Luxor

DSC_4805We have arrived at the end of our first week and are sitting in the courtyard of a hotel where we camped last night. I had the option to do a tour of the valley of the Kings, but I decided to save my money and to clean and organize. Biking into a city such as this is terrifying and exhilarating at the same time, as there are people donkeys and busses to avoid as well as objectiles thrown infrequently by the crowds of children that line up along the road to shout hello. When cleaning my bike this morning I noticed an abnormality in my rear derailor and upon further inspection with the mechanic discovered that the lowest gear cog has split at some point. Luckily a guy named Vince had a spare one which he gave to me. The food that our cooks make for us everyday is amazing and there has always been something new for every meal. I am trying to stay organised as I have to currently pack my tent and sleeping bag into my day bag and the other bag is packed away until rest days. This leaves me with even less supplies than what I was already limited to and packing up the next day is always a pain. In desert camps we have all given up trying to keep the tents sand free and the base of my tent usually has piles spread around everywhere. In two days and a bit we will be on a ferry bound for sudan and egypt will be behind us. Please feel free to ask questions and I will try to answer them in my next blog whenever that may be.

4 thoughts on “Luxor

  1. Linda Jones

    My one piece of “motherly” advice, learned the hard (otherwise known as cheap Scottish) way: don’t let money saving prevent you from experiencing special things. I have looked back on trips and regretted not doing things. Especially in places where you know you might never return to.

    Reply
  2. Andrew Hicks

    Keep going Jared keep strong sounds as though you are having a great trip stay safe and enjoy.
    God bless you

    Reply

Leave a comment